You are here

About the Court

A map of the counties served by the United States District Court Middle District of Florida

The Middle District of Florida is one of the country's 94 United States District Courts. These courts are an integral part of the country's justice system, serving to resolve both civil and criminal matters.

There is at least one United States District Court in each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Each United States District Court includes a United States Bankruptcy Court. There are two special trial courts: the Court of International Trade addresses cases involving international trade and customs laws, and the United States Court of Federal Claims deals with most claims for money damages against the United States government. 

The Middle District of Florida stretches over 350 miles from the Georgia border on the northeast to south of Naples on Florida's southwest coast. Made up of 13 district judges, 16 senior judges, and 17 magistrate judges, the district has five divisions in Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Ocala, Orlando, and Tampa. The Clerk's Office is headquartered in the Orlando Division. The district includes 35 of Florida’s 67 counties. In 2017, the United States Census Bureau estimated that 57.7 percent of the state's population resides in the district. In 2020, 10,324 cases were filed in the district.