FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - LAWYER RENEWALS

How do I know if my PACER account is linked to the Middle District of Florida CM/ECF?

Go to PACER and select "Manage My Account Login". Enter your PACER credentials, click on the "Maintenance" tab, and then click "Display Registered Courts."



If "Florida Middle District" is listed, your account is linked.



If it is not listed, you must first submit an **Attorney E-File Registration** to link your account. See the **E-File Registration instructions** for details.

How do I link my PACER account to the Middle District?

You must submit an **Attorney E-File Registration** through PACER. Review the **Attorney E-File Registration** instructions for step-by-step directions.

Why is the renewal fee \$50?

Under Local Rule 2.01(b)(2)(A) and administrative order 3:24-mc-20-MMH, doc 28, a member of the Middle District of Florida Bar must pay a \$50 membership renewal fee every five years between June 2, 2025 and August 31, 2025. No membership renewal fee is due for members admitted on or after March 1, 2025, or a lawyer admitted under Local Rule 2.01(c), Special Admission (*pro hac vice*).

When is my renewal fee due? Is there a "grace period" for submission? When does the Court consider that I am no longer an active member of the MDFL Bar?

Middle District Bar members must pay the \$50 renewal fee between June 2, 2025 and August 31, 2025.

A \$50 late fee applies to a membership renewal fee paid between September 1, 2025 and September 30, 2025. A lawyer failing to pay the membership renewal fee by September 30,

U.S. District Court – Middle District of Florida Updated 6/18/25

Attorney Renewals FAQ 1 | P a g e 2025 must reapply for membership to the court's Bar and pay a \$224 general admission fee.

Can I use my business or law firm credit card to pay?

Yes. A business or law firm credit card may be used.

May a check for renewal fees be submitted on behalf of a lawyer?

No, checks are not accepted. You must pay the \$50 renewal fee through CM/ECF at https://ecf.flmd.uscourts.gov. Once logged in, CM/ECF will redirect you to pay.gov, where you can pay by credit card. Once your payment has been made, pay.gov will redirect you back to CM/ECF to complete the renewal process.

May one payment be submitted on behalf of multiple lawyers?

No. Each renewal fee payment must be submitted after logging in to CM/ECF using each lawyer's unique PACER credentials.

What if I don't have a credit card or Internet access?

The Court requires electronic payment through CM/ECF.

Instead of submitting my renewal fee as directed, I mailed a check to the Clerk's Office in the division where I file. What happens now?

The Clerk's Office will return a renewal fee submitted by check to the lawyer. Please note that submitting a renewal fee by check does not alleviate the lawyer's obligation to submit a timely renewal payment through CM/ECF.

I think I am a member of the Middle District of Florida's Bar, but I don't recall when I was admitted to practice before the Court. How can I verify my membership?

To search the Directory of Members of the Court's Bar, visit this internet page: http://apps.flmd.uscourts.gov/attyadm/attyroll.htm

<u>I am a lawyer admitted under Local Rule 2.01(c), Special Admission (pro hac vice).</u> <u>Should I pay the fee?</u>

No. The renewal fee does not apply to a lawyer admitted pro hac vice.

I was recently admitted (or re-admitted) to the MDFL Bar. Should I pay the fee?

For members admitted (or readmitted) on or after March 1, 2025, no membership renewal fee is due.

How can I reset my PACER login or password?

You must contact PACER for a forgotten login or password at: https://pacer.uscourts.gov

My contact information in CM/ECF is incorrect. How can I update my contact information?

NextGen CM/ECF contact information is managed through your PACER account. For

instructions on maintaining your NextGen CM/ECF account, use this guide:

Maintaining Your NextGen CM/ECF Account (PDF)

I am a U.S. Government lawyer admitted to practice before the court. Am I exempt from paying the renewal fee?

No. If a lawyer employed by the U.S. Government chooses to be an active member of the Court's Bar and has been admitted, that lawyer is required to pay the renewal fee. Under Local Rule 2.01(a), a lawyer employed by the U.S. Government is not required to be a member of the Court's Bar to practice before the Court.

I did not receive an e-mail about the upcoming Lawyer Membership Renewal Fee and when I called the Court to verify my status, I was informed that I am no longer a member of the MDFL Bar. I believe that an error has been made and would like to address my situation with the Court. What should I do?

You can contact the Attorney Services Coordinator with a question by email at attorney admissions orl@flmd.uscourts.gov.

I am not eligible to renew my membership and must be re-admitted. What should I do? Visit the court's website to review details on Membership in the Court's Bar.

If I do not pay my renewal fee, does this adversely affect my record with the Middle District of Florida?

While there are no penalties for membership lapse, if you are no longer a member of the Bar of this Court, you must be re-admitted before you can practice before the Court. Please also note that a lawyer who is no longer a member of this Court's Bar is subject to removal from the CJA Panel and the Mediator Panel.