ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS

 

MDFL - U.S. District Court Policy Change Effective January 2, 2013

Effective January 2, 2013, the District Clerk of Court's Offices for the Middle District of Florida will no longer accept personal checks for any type of payment. Law firms may continue to remit payments using their business checks. The FLMD Clerk's Office will only accept cash, money orders, certified bank checks and cashier's checks beginning January 2, 2013.



2014 Attorney Admission Ceremony dates have been posted.

  • General Information
  • Ft. Myers
  • Jacksonville
  • Ocala
  • Orlando
  • Tampa

Applicable Local Rules:  The rules governing general admission to practice are set forth in Chapter Two of the Local rules of the Middle District of Florida. The Local Rules may be downloaded from the Middle District of Florida's internet site, www.flmd.uscourts.gov and are also available at the intake areas of each of the divisional Clerk's Offices.


Requirements for Admission: Local Rule 2.01(b) requires that each applicant:


  • 1) be a member in good standing with The Florida Bar; and
  • 2) submit a completed Attorney Admission Registration Form with:
    • a. a certificate from two members in good standing with the bar of this Court attesting that you are of good moral character and are otherwise competent and eligible for general admission to practice, signed and dated within 90 days of the application for admission to the Middle District of Florida; or

    • b. a certificate of good standing from either the Northern or Southern District of Florida, dated within 90 days of the application for admission to the Middle District of Florida. (this certificate of good standing form can be obtained from the respective district of which you are a member.)

    • All certificates may be uploaded, in order, to complete your Attorney Admission Registration. CLICK HERE for certificate in support.

Unless you reschedule your admission ceremony date with the attorney admission clerk, you must personally attend the ceremony on the date scheduled or the Court will strike your application and you will be required to resubmit your application. Please note that weapons, cellular phones, or recording devices are not permitted in the Courthouse.


Scheduling Telephonic Admission Hearings Some of the divisional offices hold telephonic attorney admission ceremonies throughout the year. Please review the specific divisional office for more information regarding telephonic ceremonies.


ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Ft. Myers

 

Attendance at the ceremonies is not guaranteed until the Clerk’s Office sends an “Initial Notice of Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date. If you do not reschedule, you must personally attend the ceremony on the date scheduled or the Court will strike your application and you will be required to resubmit your application. Click here for Attorney Admissions Clerk contact information.

 

An applicant for membership to the bar of the Middle District of Florida who does not reside in the district may, in lieu of appearance in person, be sworn in via telephone by a Magistrate Judge or District Judge. The applicant must submit a written request for a telephonic appearance to the Clerk of Court. Upon receipt of the request and payment of the required fee, a Magistrate Judge or District Judge will schedule the telephonic ceremony date and time on a schedule convenient to the Court and the Clerk will notify the candidate of the scheduled date.

 

Click here for the Attorney Admission Application

 

     
Cut-off Date for App
January 7
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
December 27, 2013
February 4
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Carol Mirando
January 27
March 4
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Carol Mirando
February 24
April 8
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
March 31
May 6
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
April 28
June 3
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
May 26
July 8
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Carol Mirando
June 30
August 5
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Carol Mirando
July 28
September 16
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Carol Mirando
September 8
October 7
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
September 29
November 4
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
October 27
December 16
1:30 p.m. Magistrate Douglas N. Frazier
December 8

 

 

 



ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Jacksonville


PLEASE NOTE: The Jacksonville Division is now fully electronic and will no longer accept paper applications.


All attorneys must register online for an attorney admission ceremony. The admission fee for formal ceremonies is due the day of the ceremony and not prior to that date. The admission fee is $191.00 and checks must be made payable to "Clerk, U.S. District Court" (the court does not accept personal checks, please refer to the policy above). Attendance at the ceremonies is not guaranteed until the Clerk’s Office sends an “Initial Notice of Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date. If you do not reschedule, you must personally attend the ceremony on the date scheduled or the Court will strike your application and you will be required to resubmit your application. Click here for Attorney Admissions Clerk contact information.


TELEPHONIC ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Jacksonville

An applicant for membership to the bar of the Middle District of Florida who does not reside in the district may, in lieu of appearance in person, be sworn in via telephone by a Magistrate Judge or District Judge. Every attorney must register online for a telephonic admission date and time. Upon receipt of the confirmation with the date and time scheduled, the attorney must mail the payment of $191.00 to the Clerk of the Court. The admission fee is due prior to the scheduled telephonic admission ceremony. Please make the check payable to "Clerk, U.S. District Court" and mail the fee to the Clerk's Office at U.S. District Court, 300 N. Hogan Street, Suite 9-150, Jacksonville, Florida 32202. The Clerk's Office will not swear in an attorney unless the admission fee has been paid. Prior to your swearing in the attorney admission clerk will notify you by E-mail regarding the telephonic admission procedure. Your participation for telephonic admission is not guaranteed until the Clerk's Office sends you a "Notice of Telephonic Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date.


CLICK HERE for certificate in support of an application for general admission practice.


Formal and Telephonic Attorney Admission ceremonies are available in each of our divisional offices throughout the year. Before you submit your attorney admission registration form, you will be given an opportunity to choose from available dates and times. Choose a division below and then click on the desired date on the calendar. All applicants must sign up at least a week in advance of the scheduled admission ceremony date by signing up electronically on our website.


JACKSONVILLE DIVISION ADMISSION SCHEDULE

 

If you are interested in Federal Bar Association membership, please visit the Jacksonville Chapter of the FBA.



ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Ocala

 

Attendance at the ceremonies is not guaranteed until the Clerk’s Office sends an “Initial Notice of Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date. If you do not reschedule, you must personally attend the ceremony on the date scheduled or the Court will strike your application and you will be required to resubmit your application. Click here for Attorney Admissions Clerk contact information.

 

An applicant for membership to the bar of the Middle District of Florida who does not reside in the district may, in lieu of appearance in person, be sworn in via telephone by a Magistrate Judge or District Judge. The applicant must submit a written request for a telephonic appearance to the Clerk of Court. Upon receipt of the request and payment of the required fee, a Magistrate Judge or District Judge will schedule the telephonic ceremony date and time on a schedule convenient to the Court and the Clerk will notify the candidate of the scheduled date.

 

Click here for the Attorney Admission Application

 

 The deadline for receipt of admission applications is seven days prior to the ceremony date.

April 16 11:00 a.m Magistrate Philip Lammens
August 13 11:00 a.m. Magistrate Philip Lammens
December 17 .11:00 a.m. Magistrate Philip Lammens

ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Orlando


PLEASE NOTE: The Orlando Division is now fully electronic and will no longer accept paper applications.


All attorneys must register online for an attorney admission ceremony. The admission fee for court ceremonies is due the day of the ceremony and not prior to that date. The admission fee is $191.00 and checks must be made payable to "Clerk, U.S. District Court" (the court does not accept personal checks, please refer to the policy above). Attendance at the ceremonies is not guaranteed until the Clerk’s Office sends an “Initial Notice of Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date. If you do not reschedule, you must personally attend the ceremony on the date scheduled or the Court will strike your application and you will be required to resubmit your application. Click here for Attorney Admissions Clerk contact information.


TELEPHONIC ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Orlando

An applicant for membership to the bar of the Middle District of Florida who does not reside in the district may, in lieu of appearance in person, be sworn in via telephone. Every attorney must register online for a telephonic admission date and time. Upon receipt of the confirmation with the date and time scheduled, the attorney must mail the payment of $191.00 to the Clerk of the Court. The admission fee is due prior to the scheduled telephonic admission ceremony. Please make the check payable to "Clerk, U.S. District Court" (the court does not accept personal checks, please refer to the policy above) and mail the fee to the Clerk's Office at U.S. District Court, 401 W. Central Blvd. Suite 1200, Orlando, Florida 32801. The Clerk's Office will not swear in an attorney unless the admission fee has been paid. Prior to your swearing in the attorney admission clerk will notify you by E-mail regarding the telephonic admission procedure. Your participation for telephonic admission is not guaranteed until the Clerk's Office sends you a "Notice of Telephonic Admission Ceremony". You may call the attorney admission clerk and reschedule your admission date for the next ceremony, providing you do so at least five (5) days prior to the originally scheduled ceremony date.


CLICK HERE for certificate in support of an application for general admission practice.


ORLANDO DIVISION SCHEDULE

If you are interested in Federal Bar Association membership, please contact the Orlando Chapter of the FBA.


 


ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS - Tampa


PLEASE NOTE: The Tampa Division is now fully electronic and will no longer accept paper applications from any attorney who resides within the Middle District of Florida.



Attendance at the ceremonies is not guaranteed until the Attorney Admission Clerk emails you the “Initial Notice of Admission Ceremony" form. You must sign this form and email it back immediately. If for some reason you cannot attend the ceremony you have selected, you must reschedule via the above Attorney Admission link. You will not automatically be rescheduled for the next ceremony and it is your responsibility to reschedule any missed ceremony.




TELEPHONIC ATTORNEY ADMISSIONS
**Offered only to attorneys who reside outside of the Middle District of Florida**

An applicant for membership to the bar of the Middle District of Florida who does not reside in the district may, in lieu of a personal appearance, be sworn in via telephone by a Magistrate or District Judge. The applicant must submit a written request along with an original application and payment of $191.00 (payable by law firm check, bank check, money order, or cash to the Clerk, U.S. District Court -*no personal or business checks accepted). Please mail application and payment to Clerk, U.S. District Court, 801 N. Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602. On receipt of these documents and approval of the application, the Attorney Admission Clerk will notify the candidate via email of the next telephonic ceremony date and time. The candidate is required to respond to that email with confirmation of his or her attendance on the conference call.

 

Click here for the paper Attorney Admission Application (telephonic attorneys only)